• Categories

  • Archives

  • Disclaimer

    The content of this blog is my sole responsibility as an independent Stampin’ Up! demonstrator and the use of and content of the classes, services, or products offered here is not endorsed by Stampin’ Up!© All content, including text, photographs and projects are © Debbi Silberberg. My artwork is shared for your personal enjoyment and inspiration only, and is not intended for submission to contests, publication or for personal monetary gain.
  • July 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  

Hot Pink, Electric Orange, and Lime Green – oh my!

When making custom gifts, it’s important to know the recipient.  When my cousin’s daughter became Bat Mitzvah recently, I wanted to make a special gift set for her.  So I asked my cousin what her favorite colors are.  I was a little surprised at the answer.  They had just finished painting her room hot pink, electric orange, and lime greem!  Umm, really?  Yup, my cousin said you need sunglasses to go in there.  But who’s to argue with the  fashion sense of a 12 year old girl? Cool Girl

Unfortunately, Stampin’ Up! doesn’t have any designer paper with those colors. 😦  And do you know how many different shades of hot pink, electric orange and lime green there are?!  A LOT!  Lucky for me, they used Benjamin Moore paint so I ran down to my local Benjamin Moore dealer and got the paint chips.  And I took those shopping with me.  And I found some awesome ribbon and fabulous Bo Bunny paper that matched the paint chips!  Yay me!  I also found some tulip petals (silk of course) at Ikea which I thought would make a fun background.

So what did I do with all these hot pink, electric orange, and lime green accessories you ask?  Well, let me show you!

Shira-gift-set(web)Here’s part of the set.  I made a clipboard, a locker magnet, a journal with a beaded pen, a bookmark, and a name frame.  See the cute locker magnet?  I crack myself up sometimes.  I used the paint chips and my Top Note die to make it.  Isn’t it fun?  Now she can have her favorite colors at school with her!

The saying on the front of the journal, “I don’t sing because I’m happy, I’m happy because I sing” came from her invitations.  So now she’ll always remember when she got this gift set.
Shira-name-frame(web)And here’s the name frame.  I used wood letters I found at ACMoore.  I cut the paper out, adhered it to the wood,  and layered the letters over the silk tulip leaves.

 

 

Shira-locker-magnet(web)And a close up of the magnet and the bookmark.Shira-bookmark(web)

I have to admit, as much as I enjoyed making this set, these aren’t my favorite colors.  And when I buy supplies, I always get extra “just in case.”  So what to do with the “leftovers?”  Well, it just so happens that my friend Dawn totally ‘s hot pink and orange together.  And she needed a bit of cheering up, so off the lot went to her!  She really liked the ribbon!  I can’t wait to see what she does with it.

Supplies
Stamps:  JustRite stampers “from the desk of” and Brayton Font
Paper:  Bo Bunny Love Shack series
Ribbon:  American Crafts maybe?  I’m not sure and now I don’t have it to check!
Paint Chips:  Benjamin Moore
Accessories:  Big Shot die cutting machine, Top Note Bigz die from Stampin’ Up!, Circle nestabilities, chipboard coasters, magnet sheet, 5 petal flower punch from Stampin’ Up! (for the paint chip flowers on the clipboard)

7 Responses

  1. That’s very HOT, or COOL, or GOJUS! However you say it, I bet she LOVES this gift set! Great job on it!

  2. OMW – how cute is this gift set. I imagine she will LOVE it!!! I couldn’t imagine these colors together when you were writing about it, but you pulled it off and they look great together!!!

  3. Oh my goodness – AWESOME gift set!! I am sure she is going to love it. And how sweet of you to send Dawn the “leftovers” to brighten her day (no pun intended – ha).

  4. Debbi – These came out awesome! I’m sure she loved them. Great job using the tulip leaves. And, yes, I’d have a hard time with the color combo – but you nailed it!!

  5. Oh my gosh, these are HOT!!! Definitely gorgeous my friend. I’ll bet she really loved the set too. How come the left coast only has the distribution center for Ikea and not an Ikea? Looks like they have some fun stuff in there.

  6. What a thoughtful, well planned, and FUN gift Debbi — I honestly love these colors together — (though I don’t know about painting a room in these colors– princess pink is bright enough for me 😉 ) Way to go — I’m sure each item will be well loved!

  7. Oh this is adorable–bet she loves it! I have to laugh, though; when I was Shira’s age, my parents let me paint my room hot pink, electric orange and lemon yellow. . . . Debbi, maybe we’re long lost cousins?

Leave a Reply

